Hope College Faculty

This project would not have been possible without the funding and resources provided by the
Mellon Scholars Program. Many thanks to the following members of the Hope College faculty for their assistance, advice, and support:

  • Dr. Aaron Franzen: Professor of Sociology, Mentor Professor presiding over this project
  • Dr. Anne Heath: Former Director of the Mellon Scholars Program
  • Dr. Marsely Kehoe: Current Director of the Mellon Scholars Program
  • Dr. Andy McCoy: Director of Studies in Ministry


Churches of Naperville

In addition to the Hope faculty, I would also like to thank all of the churches that allowed me to include them in my research and welcomed my observations and interviews:

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church:

Gary Olsen: Co-Senior Pastor

Craig Parsons: Director of Worship, Sanctuary

Ryan Hammer: Director of Worship, Worship Center


Community Christian Church:

Doug Leddon: Executive Pastor

Ian Simkins: Community Pastor


Our Saviours Lutheran Church:

John Gerike: Senior Pastor

Brian Wise: Associate Pastor, Celebration Campus Pastor

Lynn Panosh: Director of Worship and the Arts


First Congregational United Church of Christ

Reverend Mark Winters: Pastor


Knox Presbyterian Church


Calvary Church


Wheatland Salem

John Dudich: Director of Worship


St John United Church of Christ

Matt Mimlitz: Pastor


Living Water Evangelical Church

Reverend Barry Gin: Pastor